Nabila A. Mirandini
3 min readMar 7, 2024

--

Oh, my..

Thank you so much for all of the responses. I didn't expect my writings could reach this....a lot of people, in this kind of amount. I wish I could engage with every one of you. I'm trying to, at least. Even though it will take ages. There will be no comments or responses that will be forgotten.

We all deserve to be loved, celebrated, and affirmed for all the achievements we have accomplished and the obstacles we've been through, all the monsters we've been trying to face and deal with, the ones we are trying to keep in the cage.

Yet, some people couldn't understand that. It is not their fault, indeed. But, deep down, we wish they could. My mother is one of those people. Even though it is hard for me to come clean with her.

Yes, I did all the preparation that I thought I needed. I wrote scripts in literal meaning, built up scenarios of what might and might not have happened, and talked to my friends about it to gain a way more varied perspective. It was more like a battle preparation, to be honest. But, none of it got out. I cried exactly like a newborn baby in the first sentence. I couldn't finish it. It was too much, too emotional. My story might inspire you to do the same thing. But, the only right time to do it is when you're ready, do not rush. It could be different for each person, but mostly it's draining, it's tough. It takes a lot of mental preparation for some people.

There is this question in the reply, @Sandra Maria asked "Do I end up carrying the same baggage and living my life exactly like my mom's younger self?"

Honestly, I have no idea. My knowledge possession of her story when she was young is so little, nearly zero even. But, I believe that each of us has a different limitation. My mom's younger self might have found a lot of difficulties in her life too. Her generation has its obstacles and challenges. Things that I couldn't relate to. Like any other mom in this world, I bet she sacrificed a lot of things for her children and family.

I've walked on this earth for 20-21 years, so green and young I know. But, life forced me to think, to take a hundred steps ahead from an early age. I have a ton of dreams and wants that I buried. I was mad at first, but then I began to understand that sometimes there have to be sacrifices for a greater purpose. Sometimes things happen, and we can't do anything about it. And, everyone experienced that. Not just me, not just my mom. So, no, life didn't 'force' me to carry baggage like my mom or being her younger self. But, life taught me that being a human is a challenge itself. We carry baggage that may vary from one to another. It's incomparable.

Oh, God. Someone needs to pull me away from my laptop. I've been blabbering for too long.

Anyway,

Dear reader, may we always be surrounded by all of the joy and happiness along with the precious lessons to learn so that we can develop to be a better person tomorrow.

To be celebrated, to be rewarded, to be loved because of nothing but we deserved all of those things.

Sincerely,

Nab.

--

--